Lunigiana is an area which consists mainly of the province of Massa-Carrara, the northern part of the region of Tuscany, and partly of the province of La Spezia in the south of the region of Liguria.

Apuan Alps
The southwest of Lunigiana borders the Tyrrhenean Sea. In the southeast Lunigiana is bordered by the Apuan Alps.

Here you can visit the Apuan Alps Geopark. 
The park’s flora mainly consists of oak and mixed wooded areas which give way to Mediterranean scrub on the coastal slopes.