Tourist tax in Italy and Tuscany

All major cities in Italy (Rome, Milan, Florence, Naples and Venice) but also smaller towns, mostly in touristic areas in Italy have recently introduced (2012) a tourist tax for non-residents.

In Tuscany the tax is applied in about 50% of all cities and towns. Especially in the province of Florence almost all towns are applying the tourist tax. 
The local administrations are in charge of the tax and therefore different conditions and requirements apply. 

If you intend to travel to Italy you may want to inform with the accomodation provider first if the tourist tax is applied in their city, how it is calculated and how much the total amount of tax for your stay will be.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.